14 October, Moscow - The rector of Minin Uviversity Alexander Fedorov took part in a Government meeting hosted by Dmitry Medvedev. The meeting was on improving the effectiveness of employer-sponsored education. The rector together with Olga Vasilyeva, the Minister of Education and Science of the Russian Federation, presented a report on a new model of employer-sponsored teachers’ education, worked out and launched by Minin University.

Olga Vasilyeva presented the essence of the program and emphasized the qualitative changes, which will be introduced into a system of planning and developing regional pedagogical communities. Four regions of the Russian Federation are participating in this program in 2016, a list of participants will be increased to 16 in 2017.

Alexander Fedorov elaborated on the most problematic elements of the program. The Principal underlined the fact that the program should be extremely user-friendly and not make anybody sign a contract forcibly. However, if the contract is signed, it must be trilateral. First of all, an institution of higher education must train such a specialist who is required by a certain employer.  The employer must take on a graduate for specified time (on average about 3 years), encourage further professional development of a specialist and maintain his interest to profession. Thirdly, the region is responsible for estimating the need for new specialists in a 5-to-10-year period, and also for providing them with extra privileges and perks, scholarships and other forms of specialists’ retention.

The program was approved by the Prime Minister and the Cabinet ministers and recommended to realization.

More on the topic:
On October, 12th the meeting of universities rectos on the development of teacher education was held in The Ministry of Education and Science of Russia chaired by Minister Vasilyeva. Alexander Fedorov was invited to make a report on Modernization of teaching education.

On October 18th-21th Minin University hosted an expert council and an in-service course on employer-sponsored education for 16 regions and 16 institutions of higher education.